Puzzles 34-35: It’s Now Regiothmetics Class!

New genre! Regiothmetics Yajilin. I need a good name for “Regiothmetics”.

Follow usual Yajilin rules (draw a loop and shade all the remaining non-given cells black; black cells may not be adjacent). In addition, there are two types of clues:
– Blue, no sign, size-12: The number indicates the number of black cells in the region plus in the line of sight (from the arrow following the direction of the arrow up to the edge of the grid). Black cells that are in both the region and the line of sight are counted twice.
– Brown, sign (+ or -), size-10: The number indicates the number of black cells in the region minus in the line of sight (from the arrow following the direction of the arrow up to the edge of the grid). Black cells that are in both the region and the line of sight cancel each other.

Everybody! It’s the beginning of Regiothmetics class! To become a genius like me, do your best!
Our class begins, with a simple medium 7×7 puzzle,
If you’re done and you still want to be more genius like me, try this easy-medium 10×10 puzzle!
But wait! Did I just reverse the difficulty?
The answer is, the answer is, I didn’t, I didn’t, that’s because, that’s because,
The smaller is indeed the harder one!

Puzzle 34: Regiothmetics Class! Assignment 1!
Regiothmetics Yajilin

Puzzle 35: Regiothmetics Class! Assignment 2!
Regiothmetics Yajilin

UPDATE (20-Nov-2012, 18.36 UTC+7): Fixed Puzzle 34 (R7C1 to make it solvable) and replaced Puzzle 35 (the former is utterly broken).

If you are one of the top three, you get extra points!

But seriously. I offer this thing again. Be one of the first three people to submit the correct solutions to both grids, and you get a puzzle as a gift. You can choose the genre and stuffs like that.

Yes, even if you’re colorblind you should be able to distinguish non-signed givens and signed givens. And their sizes differ by 2 points. Should be sufficient. Although when I add more clue types (possible seeing recent Surveyors Heyawake) I need more non-color cues.

Yay. Did I say today (and yesterday) is one of my most productive blogging and puzzling days ever?

4 thoughts on “Puzzles 34-35: It’s Now Regiothmetics Class!

  1. Hmm, I have a feeling you reversed the colors in your directions. I’ll reply once I solve with my thoughts.

    Reply
  2. And I appear to be meeting a contradiction on the first puzzle. I can’t fill both the five and the central two without violating the Yajilin rules somehow. There’s too little room.

    Just to clarify, the 2+ means there are two more squares in the region than in the line of sight, correct?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

