Division

Yes, I love vague titles.

As a fluent Indonesian and English speaker (or I should say user because I rarely speak English >_< ), I tend to understand Indonesian/English texts but have trouble to translate words between the two languages. Sufficient proof of the fact that when one (read: at least me) is fluent in a language, one thinks in that language, not by translating that language to another first.

By the same method I need to identify "keywords" in Chinese texts to understand the vague context of it (and rarely be able to get through; I got 16/20 in HSK Level 1 😦 ). Sufficient proof that I'm not fluent in Chinese.

Bah. Happy Lunar New Year!

Leave a Reply

