Long time no see

It has been so long since my last post, huh. Yes, I’m distracted by many things that I didn’t get to write puzzles or do anything worthy to post here. I’m still active on my Twitter (@chaotic_iak) and elsewhere. A random collection of tidbits on what I did since New Year:


Operating System is a difficult course. I don’t understand why it’s a required course.

Holographic algorithms are interesting. And I gave my first seminar talk; yes, it’s about holographic algorithms.

I proved NP-completeness of NOT-1-IN-3-SAT (given a 3-CNF formula, find an assignment so that each clause has 0, 2, or 3 true literals (hence “not 1”)). In fact, I proved NP-completeness of PLANAR-NOT-1-IN-3-SAT (above, but the formula is also planar).

I did Google Code Jam this year; I ranked 68th in Round 3. That’s my best performance.

We did IPSC this year. We ranked 15th; that’s also the best performance for me, one rank up from in 2014. (I’m not sure about others. Also, we ranked 61st in 2015; that was not a good year.)

I bought a majority of my board games in this period. I forgot which were bought before this, so have a list: 6 nimmt!, 7 Wonders, Alchemists, Bohnanza, Carcassonne, Castles of Burgundy, Citadels, Coup, Dominion (Base, Intrigue, Seaside, Prosperity, Empires), Empire Engine, Forbidden Island, Last Will, Manhattan Project, Race for the Galaxy, Red7, Steampunk Rally, Sushi Go!, The Grizzled. And I’m not ashamed to say that I might buy some more this year. I need to think how to bring them back home.

I also spent more money on video games this year than all previous years combined. ($96.97 vs $30.31 from the records I can remember… and this year is still going.)

I reached new levels of furry trashiness. I’m much more active on Twitter after a friend I met on FurryMUCK brought me to his Twitter circle. I’m also more active on F-List. I wrote a few short stories (all fetishy; go search my Twitter if you want).

Surprisingly, I did Puzzle GP, so I wasn’t completely detached from puzzling world. But I think I only wrote 2-3 puzzles during this entire period.

I apparently invented a Zendo variant called Graph Zendo. As you can expect, it’s Zendo, but the koans are graphs. The combinatorial graphs, with vertices and edges. I played/mastered a few games of it on Super Duper Games.


So there you have it. We’ll see if I return back to posting here any time soon or whether I need to make another of these posts later.

2 thoughts on “Long time no see

Leave a Reply

